Author Topic: Duplicating Plants ?  (Read 4505 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline roiphil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • I did the 10,000 forum posting
    • Limerick Xmas Tree Centre
Duplicating Plants ?
« on: January 13, 2009, 06:13:00 PM »
If you look at my site http://www.ideasforgardens.net/gardenplantsbypost/ and the plant list i have Hedging/Trees/Shrubs is their any way i can duplicate a plant from Hedging/Trees/Shrubs into Shrubs for example, say the plant Griselinia littoralis 'Variegata' as this plant can be used for hedging and also a shrub, any ideas

Phil

Online ideasguy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6316
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Re: Duplicating Plants ?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 08:05:34 PM »
You cant duplicate the same plant in a review (not at present at any rate)
I could do something about that, but it would take a bit of a revamp, and I will have to put that off for a while.

The alternative is to add another plant of the same name
IG Pro doesnt let you add duplicates. However, if you add the same plant with some little variation, then it will.
Colour is one of the fields it checks, so if you add the same plant name and give it a slightly different spelling in the colour field it will accept it.
Is that OK as a workaround?

Offline roiphil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • I did the 10,000 forum posting
    • Limerick Xmas Tree Centre
Re: Duplicating Plants ?
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 08:14:11 PM »
Quote
The alternative is to add another plant of the same name

Will give that  go by changing colour spelling

Quote
I could do something about that, but it would take a bit of a revamp, and I will have to put that off for a while.

Save this for the revamp when you get round to it as you know by me email i am in no rush, but the list of revamps is getting longer  ;) got a kitchen roll to write everything doen on in list form  ;D

exscuse spelling listening ti the king on headphonesat same time
Thanks
Phil

Offline roiphil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • I did the 10,000 forum posting
    • Limerick Xmas Tree Centre
Re: Duplicating Plants ?
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 09:04:14 PM »
2 griselinias now in shrub section  ;D

Online ideasguy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6316
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Re: Duplicating Plants ?
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 09:58:04 PM »
Ive had a look.
One is Griselinia littoralis and the other is Griselinia littoralis 'Variegata'
Right?

If yes, you shouldnt have needed the workaround for those Phil. Since they are different plants, the programs will allow you to add them no problem. Did I misunderstand your original question?


Offline roiphil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • I did the 10,000 forum posting
    • Limerick Xmas Tree Centre
Re: Duplicating Plants ?
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2009, 09:41:59 AM »
Griselinia littoralis and the other is Griselinia littoralis 'Variegata'
Thats right 2 different sorts but i wanted both sorts in shrub section aswell as hedging which i have achieved
listed twice Griselinia littoralis
listed twice Griselinia littoralis 'Variegata'

Online ideasguy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6316
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Re: Duplicating Plants ?
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2009, 11:00:22 AM »
Yes, I see it now Phil
Perfect application of the workaround.

Offline roiphil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • I did the 10,000 forum posting
    • Limerick Xmas Tree Centre
Re: Duplicating Plants ?
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2009, 05:09:37 PM »
we have our ways and means  ;D