Author Topic: New to sowing seeds  (Read 3758 times)

Offline AuntPol

New to sowing seeds
« on: September 23, 2012, 11:44:45 AM »
Hi Folks,

I am new to gardening in general and have so far only sown one lot of biennials (canterbury bells).

So with brand new greenhouse and heating mat at the ready I have bought dozens of packs of seeds.  'Nearly' every packet tells you how long it will be to germination but none of them say how long they must remain in seed pots for after you have pricked them out. 

Is there a general rule of thumb?  Or do individual types of plant need different growing times?  How do I find the information for each type of plant?

I ask because I'm trying to set up a schedule for myself for next year.  I appeciate it can't be a strict schedule but I would like to try to work out what to sow when, when to pot on etc., so that plants actually end up in the garden for summer.

I would truly appeciate any help that can be given.
(I have also placed this question at Gardeners Corner forum just in case)

Offline bossgard

Re: New to sowing seeds
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 08:00:29 PM »

AuntPol, welcome to the IdeasGenie Community Forum!

First, let me say, that I admire your gardening enthusiasm. But also to follow it with a word of caution, don’t take on too much at a time. Or you might find yourself staying awake nights trying to figure out where and when you are going to find all the time and energy, that’s necessary to do the things you want to accomplish. Keep your plans simple for awhile, until you have developed more confidence.

I garden in the US, in the upper left-hand corner of the map, near Seattle, in the state of Washington, in both vegetable and ornamental. It’s a maritime climate, with lots of moisture and extremes in temperature. I germinate my seeds on top of the household refrigerator, and then continue with them under grow lights in my basement.