Author Topic: Sterilizing cutting tools  (Read 6532 times)

Offline bossgard

Sterilizing cutting tools
« on: January 17, 2009, 12:00:32 AM »
I'm busy cutting my dahlias separating them for storage. I like to cut them before storage, they're easier to do at that time. (I know I'm late, but the crazy weather here.) Do I really have to sterilize my pruners, lopers, knives, and saw (sometimes) that I use. The most common garden liquid sterilization fluid used here is Clorox, a brand of laundry bleach, mixed at 1 bleach, 9 water, but there are small blow torches, and premixed sprays that are available, too. I would probably use the Clorox liquid. Cheaper. Do I sterilize after every cut? Do I let the liquid air dry or wipe dry first, before the cut? I have never used a sterilization method before and have not had any problems, and the dahlias are not real special, and it seems like a awful lot of trouble to go through. Same question for my apple trees. Are there any guidlines for using sterilization?

- Toby

Offline Palustris

Re: Sterilizing cutting tools
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 12:48:51 PM »
I have to confess that I only sterilise implements when taking cuttings and certainly not in general garden pruning. IF, you had plants with virus then it might be worth doing, but to me it is going a bit over the top for normal healthy material.
Indeed any viruses in your garden are going to be spread round your plants by aphid action as much as by your pruning tools.
I too use a similar bleach concentration for sterilisation. Dip the blade in the liquid, shake off the exces and cut!. Wiping the blade will remove the effects of the bleach and and virus/bacteria on the cloth/paper would then be transferred to the cutting material. Never tried heat sterilising though. You would have to be careful that the blade was cool before use or run the risk of damaging the cutting.
In other words, please thyself. ;D

Offline bossgard

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 05:15:25 PM »