Author Topic: Epiphyllums  (Read 5921 times)

Online ideasguy

• Administrator
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Epiphyllums
« on: May 12, 2010, 09:17:47 AM »
I received an email this morning from Carol - a new Flower Genie customer from New Zealand - and was very excited to read:
I have a mailorder epiphyllum website and grow a large number of daylillies and tall bearded iris so need something to keep everything in order.

Carol then gave the link to her website:
http://www.southpacificepi.co.nz

Daylillies are very popular in the US and UK. I'm sure most of our ,members have at least one variety.
The good thing about them is they are tough as old boots in the UK - mine have survived our extremely hard winter of 2009-2010 no problems - in fact Ive had to divide and move some around the garden.

Epiphyllums?
I have to confess I knew very little about them, so I homed in on this page on Carols website:
http://www.southpacificepi.co.nz/content/view/35/45/

I did a check in the Master Database and found it contains only one entry, a seed mix supplied by Chiltern Seeds.
Epiphyllum Large-flowered Mixed Hybrids
Catalog Reference: 508    http://www.chilternseeds.co.uk/chilternseeds/321142/moreinfo/pid/31510415

I clicked the RHS button in IG Pro, and found that there is only one plant listed in the RHS Plant Finder:
Epiphyllum oxypetalum

Carol has 150 listed in her Catalog list 8)

I had a peep at Malcolms Plant List http://www.plantguide.lynandmalc.co.uk/ rather expecting to find he had one somewhere, but none listed (as yet ::))

I hope we can persuade Carol to join us on the forum!

« Last Edit: May 12, 2010, 09:35:02 AM by ideasguy »

Offline Lyn and Malcolm

• Lyn and Malcolms Garden
Re: Epiphyllums
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 11:46:58 AM »

Would it suprise you if I said yes we do have a Epiphyllum  ;D

The label on it says E. lauii. Bought it last year from an open garden. Can't find much about it, may have a name change ?
No flowers yet.