Author Topic: The Return of the Elves  (Read 3850 times)

Offline Palustris

The Return of the Elves
« on: March 17, 2014, 09:40:54 AM »
Chapter One.

Sprites.

The sprites, as young fairies are called, shuffled into the room we used as a classroom, looking very shame faced. They had just returned from being spoken to by King Adonis.

I suppose I ought to say who I am before going on with the story. My name is Shovelock Ellis Hewletts. I used to be a Professor of Entomology before I was magically reduced in size and came to live with the Fairies. Now I taught the young fairies. Fairies are not born with wings, they get them as they grow up. They do not all get their wings at the same age either. Some get them when they are very young and others much later. The younger a fairy is when it grows its wings, the less sense they have. Sadly these ‘sprites’ often are killed before they do grow up.

Fairies do not die, at least not of old age. They can be killed. Their lives are full of danger. They are at risk from birds, wasps, frogs, toads, shrews, dragonflies; indeed any creature which will eat insects will take a Fairy. King Adonis and I thought that if they were taught about these dangers before they went too far into the wide world, they would stand a better chance of surviving to adulthood. Since I was such an expert on insects, I was the one to teach them.

King Adonis is the oldest living Fairy. I call him King, but that is not really correct. In Fairy he is called “Eldest.” I refer to his daughters as ‘Princesses’, but they are not princesses in the same way as the daughters of a human King are. If Adonis was killed, the next leader would be the next oldest Fairy, not Larkspur, the eldest daughter. The next oldest Fairy lives somewhere in one of the other nests in the garden.

Now, these sprites were stood in front of me looking down at their shoes and saying nothing.