Author Topic: Moving an Acer and Japanese Maple  (Read 11839 times)

Offline Jenna

Moving an Acer and Japanese Maple
« on: September 20, 2011, 02:54:41 PM »
I have inherited an acer and a Japanese Maple (unsure which types as they are not labelled), which I love, but unfortunately they are planted in a spot that I have earmarked for a water feature.  I am planning on making the water feature in spring/summer, but have seen advice that they should not be moved then.  They already have leaf burn, so i don't want to stress them out any more.  Can i move them now or is there a better time?

Any advice appreciated   :)

NightHawk

Re: Moving an Acer and Japanese Maple
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 03:40:23 PM »
I'm not an expert on Maples or Acers Jenna so can't advise on that.

Keep checking back though as one of our more knowledgeable members will no doubt be able to point you in the right direction  ;)

Laurie.

Online ideasguy

• Administrator
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2011, 07:06:01 PM »
Hi Jenna and welcome to the world of gardening!!
Tara told me to watch out for frantic activity once you got started, and I see you have made a good start 8)

My sister has a very nice Japanese maple in her rockery. She is building a new conservatory, and the rockey and its contents have to go, and Ive offered to give it a nice new home. See photo of that little treasure below.
BTW That little sentinel of a conifer might make its way here as well.
Our members love planbt ID questions if yoiu have any. Lets see if anyone can remind me of the name of that golden delight

I'm planning to move it in a couple of weeks time.
Its a weeping variety with finely dissected purple leaves. I think it will be OK at that time, as the leaves are now in autumn colour and will be fallling off gradually.
The other suitable time to try transplanting is very early spriing, well before they burst into leaf - perhaps at small (leaf) bud time or before.