Author Topic: Copying plants from the Master database  (Read 3375 times)

Offline mendipdobbin

Copying plants from the Master database
« on: February 18, 2008, 06:22:01 PM »
Hi there everone. I'm new to this game - only installed Ideas Genie yesterday - so forgive me if this is a stupid question or has already been covered somewhere...
I've started looking at copying plants from the Master database into my own database, and have come across what seems to be a problem. The Master DB includes its own set of Plant culture and Plant care classifications. These differ slightly to the ones included in the installed My MAIN DB - for example the Master DB includes a Plant care entry of 'Mulch', which isn't in my DB. So, when I copy a plant from the Master DB into my DB, it doesn't copy across the culture and care information. In fact, even if I do have similar entries to the Master DB (eg both the Master and My MAIN DB have a culture property of 'Flowering time' with the same list of grades) the values don't seem to be copied over - I assume because the DB uses non-visible unique record identifiers & these are different between the 2 databases.
So, the question is, can I copy across the Plant culture and Plant care files from the Master DB to my DB? And if so, how do I do it?
Or am I just misunderstanding something?

Thanks in anticipation...

Claire (mendipdobbin)

Online ideasguy

• Administrator
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Re: Copying plants from the Master database
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 08:33:00 PM »
Hi Clair, and welcome to the forum and the Ideas Genie Community!
It was nice to have that chat this evening before you raced out to your badminton! I'm really pleased to learn you are a fellow software developer  :)

RE:
can I copy across the Plant culture and Plant care files from the Master DB to my DB? And if so, how do I do it?
That is a very good question for someone with one day of IG experience  :)
The answer at present is no, I'm afraid  :-[