Author Topic: Foreign Currency Accounts - setting exchange rates  (Read 3379 times)

Offline Bobh

Foreign Currency Accounts - setting exchange rates
« on: February 17, 2013, 09:13:04 PM »

I am new to Bank Genie and just starting to find my way around. I have down loaded my Quicken files which include one foreign currency account. If I run a report by categories which contains transaction from both £ accounts and from the foreign account the value of the foreign account transaction is not converted to pounds therefore the total spend on the category is incorrect. What do I need to do to correct this?. I have look for somewhere to set the exchange rate for the foreign currency account but can't find it anywhere.

Online ideasguy

• Administrator
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Re: Foreign Currency Accounts - setting exchange rates
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2013, 09:39:09 PM »
Hi Bob

The Net Worth program has a currency conversation tool.
It allows you to calculate your Net Worth in any of the currencies that you have in your list of accounts.

The Transaction Analyser does not do currency calculations. In that program you must select accounts which are the same currency (by clicking the Selection screen tab and selecting accounts of the same currency.
Is that OK for you?

Offline Bobh

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2013, 10:24:48 PM »
OK, so I need to run two reports, do a manual conversion on the foreign currency total and add the two together. As I will not be having to do this to often I can live with this but this is definately not as good as Quickens :(

Regards the Net Worth program I have refreshed the currency rate but it keeps coming back with a rate of zero. The currency in question is CZK (Czech Republic).

Online ideasguy

• Administrator
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2013, 11:08:28 PM »