Author Topic: New to forum and gardening  (Read 4942 times)

Offline AuntPol

New to forum and gardening
« on: September 18, 2012, 11:23:52 PM »
Hi folks,
I'm new to gardening (well sort of - its been over 25 years since I've had a garden and you could put what I remember on a pin head).
I moved to my new home 2 years ago and my son in law has taken most of that time to build me a patio and raised beds and I've only recently got a shed and greenhouse.
So far, all I have grown is lilies - I started with 10 bulbs when I moved in two years ago - we dug them up last week and from just those 10 bulbs I have 200+ babies.
Knowing that its the end of the growing season I have just been buying equipment and seeds ready for next year and went just a tad overboard - I think I now have about 40 packets of seed.
I got out a pad and pen and started to try to organise them all as to when I should be sowing, planting etc. and got into a right mess.  That's when I searched the internet for software and came across George's programs.
I am now emailing back and forth with George and deciding between flower genie and ideas genie.

Online ideasguy

• Administrator
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Re: New to forum and gardening
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2012, 11:33:01 PM »
Welcome to the Ideas Genie community Annie.

I have to say, the progress youve made today is not bad for a days work :D
I hope you will enjoy it here. You'll find people to help in lots of things from computers through photography to our favourite pastime- gardening.

Offline AuntPol

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2012, 11:42:46 PM »
George, I am laughing ...

Once upon a time, I was an IT tutor and web designer and also married to a programmer.  I consider my progress today to be extremely slow. 

I guess with age comes a slowing down of the brain and the need for glasses.  I love the huge full screen pages on flower genie and am having a little trouble with the smaller screens of the ideas genie.