Author Topic: Best way to deal with Synonyms?  (Read 4107 times)

Offline Djem

Best way to deal with Synonyms?
« on: May 23, 2010, 09:08:44 PM »
As an example,

Family: Lamiaceae
Genus: Solenostemon
Species: scutellarioides
Cultivar: Kiwi Fern

Synonym:Coleus blumei
Synonym:Coleus scutellarioides
Synonym: Coleus x hybridus
Synonym: Solenostemon x hybridus

I see in a thread on clematis that you mention there is a synonym button if you already have duplicates in your database, where you can mark one as such.

I work with inventory for a living, and deal with cross referencing, super-ceding and substituting part numbers daily.  Basically choosing what number we are bound and determined to call the parent ID and linking all the rest to it.  No matter where you type a linked ID in the database, the Parent ID appears.

Is there something similar here?

Thanks
J

Online ideasguy

• Administrator
  • Just me
    • Ideas for Gardens
Re: Best way to deal with Synonyms?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 10:54:05 AM »
For others reading this topic, I designed Ideas Genie to work seamlessly with the Plant naming conventions described on the RHS website.
Heres your starter for ten :D
http://apps.rhs.org.uk/rhsplantfinder/plantnaming/index.asp

Synonyms are discussed on this page:
http://apps.rhs.org.uk/rhsplantfinder/plantnaming/hownameswork.asp

To quote one paragraph from that website:
Although the ideal is for each species or cultivar to have only one name, anyone dealing with plants soon comes across a situation where one plant has received two or more names, or two plants have received the same name. In each case, only one name and application, for reasons of precision and stability, can be regarded as correct.

As they state on that web page, its a thorny subject!
Oddly, no Ideas Genie users have asked for anything special in recording Synonyms, Julie.
As you see, I did see the need and provided a checkbox so the user could record if a plant was a symonym of another plant.